consequences for driving high

Can You Drive While High?

consequences for driving high

At the start of 2018, California made it legal for marijuana to be sold from licensed dispensaries. This allowed people to consume marijuana recreationally, much in the same way that alcohol is allowed to be used. While this excited many people, some failed to realize some of the implications of the new.

The biggest factor of the law, is that while people are allowed to use marijuana recreationally, they still need to be responsible. Many of the new rules regarding the usage of marijuana are comparable to the laws around the drinking of alcohol. This includes the rule that a person cannot legally drive a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

If a person is caught driving while under the influence of marijuana, they will likely face DUI charges. Many people relate this charge to driving while drunk, but it actually covers all forms of driving under the influence of any substance. First time penalties for a DUI include:

  • Up to 6 months in jail.
  • Up to a $1,000 fine.
  • Needing to take a DUI course.
  • Having a driver’s license suspended.

The consequences go up for repeat offenders or for drivers who hurt or killed someone.

Just because using marijuana is now legal in California, it is not okay for a person to drive while high. Just like alcohol, marijuana can impair a driver’s senses and impede their reaction time. This makes the driver far more likely to cause an accident, which is something no one wants to deal with. That is why it is best to never drive while high.

consequences for texting and driving

Using a Phone While Driving Is Illegal in California

consequences for texting and driving

In today’s world, pretty much every adult has a smart phone. These incredible little devices give people access to everything important in their lives. They allow people to stay in touch with loved ones even though they may be miles apart. Unfortunately, these devices can be incredibly addicting.

Just like everything out there in the world, there is a time and place to use smart phones. One of the worst times for a person to use their phone is while driving. Driving while distracted is very dangerous. The driver takes their eyes off the road to look at a tiny little screen. They are no longer paying attention to what they are doing, which can easily cause accidents.

A first time offense of using a cellphone while driving can start at around $50 dollars. Repeat offenses can cost around $250 dollars. That is a lot of money to pay just for answering a text message. This is another reason why a driver should never pick up their phone while driving. It just isn’t worth it.

While using a cellphone while driving may seem like it is not that big of a deal, it is still very dangerous and illegal. In most instances, people who are pulled over for breaking this law claim to be law abiding citizens. They don’t seem to realize that by picking up their phone while behind the wheel of a vehicle, they are breaking the law and risking their live plus the lives of everyone around them.

consequences for stealing mail

How Bad Is Stealing Mail?

consequences for stealing mail

Even in today’s digital world, there is still a high demand for physical shipping. After all, how else would people be able to get something that they ordered online? This means that mail is still a pretty big deal, even if it may not seem like.

Something that at first seems like no big deal, but actually becomes pretty bad when looking deeper, is stealing someone else’s mail. At first, people might think it’s no big deal, since most of the mail they get is junk mail. However, that is not the case. A lot of important things are sent in envelopes from one person to another, which is why it is illegal to steal and/or open someone else’s mail.

What Gets Shipped?

A better question would be what doesn’t get shipped in today’s world? In the age of the internet and online retailers such as Amazon, people can buy just about whatever they want online. This means that whatever they purchased needs to be shipped as well. This leads to just about anything you can imagine being shipped by mail.

However, mail goes beyond material possessions. Think about all of the birthday and holiday cards that get shipped. Many of those often contain money or gift cards in them.

Another important thing that is shipped in the mail is people’s identities. Sensitive papers that can contain important information about a person, such as medical, legal, or financial documents. These bits of paper can contain social security numbers, and other private bits of information.

All of this is stuff that a person doesn’t want falling into the wrong hands, which is why it is a crime to steal someone’s mail at both the state and federal level.

What Is Considered Mail Theft?

Due to what can be found in mail, stealing it is a very serious offense. Add on to that the fact that the USPS is a federal agency, and the consequences become even more severe. Here in the state of California, the crime and its consequences are considered to be more closely related to identity theft than to actual theft. This isn’t to say that stealing a package from amazon is not as bad as stealing a letter from a bank. Both crimes will land a person in very serious trouble.

Stealing mail is defined as taking someone else’s mail from a mailbox, mail receptacle, post office, or mail carrier. It is also illegal to obtain mail by lying to or deceiving someone. Opening someone else’s mail and taking its contents without the addressed person’s consent is also illegal. Destroying stolen mail in an attempt to hide is illegal as well. Lastly, buying or receiving mail that a person knows to be stolen is illegal.

Basically, if a person’s name is not on the address, than they shouldn’t be taking or opening the mail without permission from the person who the letter or package is addressed to.

Penalties for Stealing Mail

Stealing someone else’s mail is a crime under California Penal Code 530.5 and 18 United States Code 1708.

Here in California, the theft of mail is considered a misdemeanor offense. This means that it can earn a person:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A fine no larger than $1,000.
  • Some combination of the above fine and jail time.

At the federal level, the consequences of stealing someone else’s mail are much more severe. If a person is charged with federal mail theft, they could face:

  • Up to 5 years in federal prison.
  • Fines up to $250,000.
  • Some combination of the above fine and prison time.

This is all just for the offense of stealing the mail. A person can also potentially be charged with breaking and entering or even identity theft. Both of these charges would have their penalties added onto those of the mail theft.

Stealing Mail Is a Big Deal

All in all, stealing mail is not a crime that is taken lightly. It may seem like stealing mail is no big deal, but that is not the case. If a person is caught stealing mail from anywhere, they will face criminal charges. Here in California, that means at both the state and federal level. This means that those penalties can add up quick. Basically, a person should never take someone else’s mail or packages. It is stealing, and will land a person behind bars.

halloween dui checkpoints

The 3 Different Levels of Crimes

types of crime charges

When it comes to breaking the law, most people know they shouldn’t do that because if they do, they will face consequences. However, while people may understand this concept pretty easily, what they may not realize is that there are varying levels when it comes to breaking the law. Different crimes earn different consequences. This is why people who speed receive different penalties than people who commit murder.

There are three different types of crimes, and they are:

  • Infractions – Infractions are the low level offenses. These include most traffic violations and other smaller offenses such as jaywalking. These crimes are only punishable by small fines. A person will not receive jail time for an infraction.
  • Misdemeanors – The middle level crimes are misdemeanors, and in the state of California, most crimes fall into this category. Some common misdemeanor crimes include petty theft, shoplifting, drunk in public, and drug possession. Misdemeanors are punishable by anywhere from 6 months to a year in jail, and/or a fine of no more than $1,000.
  • Felonies – Felony crimes are the worst of the worst. Some examples of felonies include rape, murder, and vehicular manslaughter. Since these are some of these worst crimes possible, they also receive the harshest penalties. A person accused of a felony faces more than a year in prison, and/or a fine no larger than $10,000.

Breaking the law is never a good idea, no matter what kind of penalties a person may face. Nobody wants to have to pay fines, or face possible incarceration. That is why most people choose to follow laws rather than break them.

california beach rules

Rules of the Beach

california beach rules

Nobody wants to think about rules once summer rolls around, the season is about freedom after all. However, the rules still need to be followed. If someone decides to ignore them, they can end up facing some serious fines or even jail time. California law doesn’t care what season it is. If a law is broken, a person will get into trouble.

Beaches are the go to place to hang out in the summer when you live in California. Unfortunately, beaches are also the go to spot for tourist as well. Locals often find their favorite surf spots littered with tourist and trash. This can make for a bad relationship between locals and tourists. If you’re a local, try to be patient with the tourist this summer. They may not know that they’re on a private beach, or that it’s a popular surf spot. If you’re a tourist on the beach this summer, please remember to pick up after yourself. California already has enough problems with water population, we don’t need an extra hand.

Aside from littering, beaches have several other rules as well. You can’t just do whatever you’d like on a beach. Most beaches have set aside areas that are designated for certain activities that are banned elsewhere on the beach. It’s always a good idea to see what rules that a beach might have since they change from place to place. For example according to the LA County website, all beaches in LA County have the following rules:

  • No animals allowed on the beach (no cats, dogs, horses, etc.)
  • No alcoholic beverages
  • No smoking
  • No tents, or overnight camping
  • No fires or barbeques allowed, except in the fire pits at Dockweiler Beach
  • No fireworks
  • No glass containers
  • No loitering between midnight and 6am
  • No amplified music
  • No nudity
  • No diving in shallow water
  • No soliciting or selling merchandise
  • No littering
  • No driving or parking on sand or bike path
  • No disturbances
  • No swimming, wading, surfing, skin dive, scuba dive, or recreation in the ocean after sundown

Like most rules, these rules are designed with your safety in mind. They don’t want glass bottle on the beach because people tend to litter, and broken glass could easily slice someone’s foot open. Loud music may be okay with you and your group of friends when it’s your playlist, but your neighbors on the beach may be offended by your choice of songs.

Rules exist for a reason. Although you may not always agree with that reason, the rule needs to be followed in order for you have the best beach experience. Don’t let the rules get you down. You can always look for beaches that have designated areas for you to have a fire, or a place that allows pets. There are several beaches in California, you just have to find the right one for you.

informative-bail-agents-at-san-bernardino-bail-bonds

Weird Laws and Halloween

informative-bail-agents-at-san-bernardino-bail-bonds

With as many laws as there are in the state and federal governments, there are bound to be some weird ones out there. Just about every state in the country has its fair share of laws that make no sense to a sane person. Many of these laws make you wonder how they became laws in the first place.

  • It is illegal to wear masks in public in Alabama. Halloween must be a lot of fun here.
  • Any misdemeanor committed in Arizona while wearing a red mask becomes a felony. Be extra careful of committing crimes on Halloween if you are in Arizona.
  • R rated movies cannot be shown at drive-in theaters in Delaware. The real trick here, would be finding a drive-in theater.
  • Men may not be seen in public in any kind of strapless gown in Florida. This eliminates some costume ideas for some men.
  • Se offenders in Illinois are prohibited from participating in holiday events like handing out candy on Halloween, except under specific circumstances. This one makes sense, except for the specific circumstances part.
  • Candy cannot contain more than 1% of alcohol in Massachusetts. Some states believe that no candy that is given to trick-or-treaters should have alcohol in it.
  • In Montana, it is a misdemeanor to show movies that depict felonious crimes. Guess that means no scary movies with any murder in them.
  • It is illegal to congregate in public in New York when 2 or more people are wearing a mask or any other sort of face covering that disguises the person’s identity. Be sure to plan any group costumes accordingly.
  • Organizations in North Carolina may not hold meetings while their members are in costumes. Guess that means no company Halloween parties.
  • Children are not allowed to go trick-or-treating on Halloween in Virginia. Well, there goes all of the fun for this holiday.
  • All lollipops are banned in Washington. You’ll have to find another candy to give out on Halloween.

It is interesting how many weird laws there are out there that affect Halloween. Breaking some of these laws might not get you into trouble, while other probably should. However that is up to local law enforcement to decide if they want to arrest someone for giving lollipops to trick-or-treaters.

call-san-bernardino-bailbonds

How Do I Choose a Bail Agent?

call-san-bernardino-bailbonds

Choosing the right bail agent is a very important task, your loved one’s freedom hangs in the balance. So, how do you do it? It is not like they teach you how to do this in school. Luckily, San Bernardino Bail Bond Store is here to help you.

When looking at a bail agent, you need to consider how much experience he or she has. The longer someone has been in the business, the better that bail agent probably is. The more time you spend bailing people out of jails, the more you learn about the bail process. Bail agents who have been working at their job for years, have learned hundreds of little tricks that help speed up the bail bond process, or make it easier for you.

You also want to find a bail agent that can actually help you in your area. This can be difficult, if you are trying to bail a loved one out of jail on the other side of the state. In instances like that, you will want to work with a statewide bail bond company like San Bernardino Bail Bond Store. One of our bail agents will be able to work with you locally, while another works with the jail.

Most importantly, you want to find a bail agent that you can trust. The best way to decide if you can trust a bail agent, is to ask for his or her license number. Ours is 1841120. If the bail agent will not share their license number with you, then something is wrong and you need to find another bail agent. Having the bail agent’s license number allows you to look him or her up and see how good of a bail agent he or she is in the eyes of the state of California. A trustworthy bail agent will have no problem sharing that information with you.

If you need to bail someone out of jail, trust that the experienced bail agents at San Bernardino Bail Bond Store will be more than happy to help you. We are a statewide bail bond company that has been helping Californians for 30 years now.

Call 866-736-6977 or click Chat With Us now to talk to one of our expert bail agents now.

call-san-bernardino-bailbonds

How Much Does a Bail Bond Cost in California?

call-san-bernardino-bailbonds

Are you looking to bail a friend or family member out of jail, but are worried about the cost? Do not fret, San Bernardino Bail Bond Store can help you out. We have been making bail bonds cheap and affordable for Californians for the last 30 years.

In California, all bail bonds start out as 10% of the person’s bail. This means that if your loved one’s bail is set at $10,000, his or her bail bond will only cost $1,000. This is the standard price set by the state of California, however, some bail bond companies can offer you a discount.

At San Bernardino Bail Bond Store, we are able to offer qualified clients a 20% discount on the price of the bail bond. What this means is, instead of paying 10% of the bail, you only pay 8%. If we use the same bail from before, the new price of the bail bond would be $800 with this discount. To qualify for this discount, you must be one of the following:

  • A union member
  • A member of the military
  • A member of AARP
  • A homeowner
  • Have a private attorney

If you meet one of those requirements, then we can give you the discount.

On top of that discount, all of our clients can pay their bail bond off with a personalized payment plan. At San Bernardino Bail Bond Store, we know that no 2 people are alike, which means we should not expect 2 individuals to pay off their bail bond in the same way. That is why our bail agents will work with you to create a customized payment plan.

If you are looking for an affordable bail bond, then come to San Bernardino Bail Bond Store.

You can talk to one of our bail agents now by calling 866-736-6977 or by clicking Chat With Us.

call-san-bernardino-bailbonds

What Do I Do When Someone I Care About Is Arrested?

call-san-bernardino-bailbonds

When someone you care about has been arrested, you undoubtedly want to help out. This means that you will probably want to bail your loved one out of jail. When it comes to bail, you have 2 options:

    1. You can pay a cash bail, which will be the full amount of your loved one’s bail.

    2. You can get a bail bond, which will only cost 10% of your loved one’s bail.

At Penny Bail Bonds in San Bernardino, we help our clients bail their loved ones out of jail with affordable bail bonds. Bailing a loved one out of jail is extremely easy when you have our bail agents assisting you.

To get the bail process started, all you need to do is talk to one of our bail agents. You can do that online, over the phone, or in person, whichever method works best for you. Our helpful bail agents will be more than happy to walk you through the bail process and answer any questions that you might have about it. Once you are satisfied and all of your questions have been answered, our bail agent will begin filling out the paperwork to secure your loved one’s release from jail.

In order to find the person you are trying to bail out in the county jail system, our bail agent will need his or her name, birthday, and the county where he or she was arrested. After that, our bail agent should be able gather the rest of the needed information from the county jail system.

Next, our bail agent will work with you to create a personalized payment plan that works with your budget.

Once everything has been taken care, one of our bail agents will hurry over to the jail to secure your loved one’s release from jail. Bailing a loved one out of jail really is that simple, and with our professional help, your loved one can be out of jail in just a few short hours.

If you want to get your loved one out of jail, then you want to call Penny Bail Bonds in San Bernardino at 866-736-6977 or click Chat With Us now

call-fountain-valley-bailbonds

DUIs Cost More Than You Know

call-fountain-valley-bailbonds

Everyone knows not to drink and drive, but everyone also knows that a lot of people do not follow this simple logic. People think they are invincible. They have driven intoxicated before without any problems and they are fine. However, the ones who have been pulled over, been in an accident, or have been sent to the hospital, due to a DUI, also assured themselves that they would be fine. They were not.

The cost of a first-time DUI offense in California would be as minimal as a small fine and possible jail time. At least that is what most people think. What most people tend to forget is the cost to repair their vehicle, the increased cost of their insurance, the cost of potential hospital bills, the cost of a potential lawyer and a bail bond, and the cost of their emotional damage from the incident. There are plenty more costs, but these are the things to think about. Drinking and driving affects more than those immediately involved in the accident.

Do not drink and drive at all costs. It puts yourself, your companions, and strangers at risk. You can be arrested or you can get into an accident. Avoid it by calling a cab, it is as simple as that.

We truly hope you will never need our services, but in case you do, Fountain Valley Bail Bond Store can be reached online, or at 866-736-6977 .