Posts

california privacy laws

California’s Privacy Laws

california privacy laws

Everybody has a right to privacy, especially here in California. No one wants to deal with someone spying on them in private situations. That is why the state of California has a few different laws revolving around people’s right to privacy.

According to state law, there are certain areas where a person should be able to expect and receive privacy. Anyone who breaks that privacy can face legal consequences. California residents should be aware of these laws so that they don’t end up accidentally breaking them.

Laws about Recording People in California

California Penal Code (PC) 647 is the state’s disorderly conduct law. It covers all sorts of things from prostitution, aggressive begging, and invasion of privacy. Specifically, sections i and j of this law relate to privacy.

PC 647i refers to the act of peeping. Under this law, it is a crime for a person to linger, loiter, or prowl on someone’s private property and peek into the doors and windows of any inhabited structure. An example of this would be trespassing onto someone else’s property and then peeking into their home’s window to see if their home, or peeking into a bedroom to watch someone changing clothes.

PC 647j makes it a crime for any person to look into an area where a person would normally expect privacy. It doesn’t matter if a person uses their eyes, binoculars, a cellphone, or any other sort of device to look into the area. Areas where privacy is naturally expected include:

  • Bedrooms.
  • Bathrooms.
  • Changing rooms.
  • Tanning booths.
  • Any other room where one would reasonably expect privacy.

Examples of breaking this law would include recording someone in a bathroom or changing room, or even filming someone under their clothes.

Another law to consider when referring to privacy is California’s eavesdropping law, PC 632. California is considered a two-party consent state. This means that in order for a confidential conversation to be recorded, all parties involved need to give their consent. If a person records a private conversation without consent from everyone involved, they could face legal trouble.

Penalties of Invasion of Privacy

The penalties for invasion of privacy vary depending on which law was broken. For instance, both PC 647i & j fall under California’s disorderly conduct law. Both of these crimes are primarily charged as misdemeanors. This means they come with the following consequences:

  • Up to 6 months in county jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000.

However, if a person has been charged with an offense under PC 647j before, or the victim of the crime was under the age of 18, the charges increase to:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A max fine of $2,000.

Meanwhile, PC 632 is known as a wobbler offense. This means it can either be charged as a misdemeanor or as a felony depending on the facts of the case and the accused’s criminal record. When charged as a misdemeanor, the person faces:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A max fine of $2,500.

Meanwhile, felony eavesdropping charges can earn a person:

  • Up to 3 years in state prison.
  • A max fine of $2,500.

Don’t Record People in Private

In today’s modern world, where recording another person is so easily accomplished thanks to smart devices, knowing these laws is extra important. No one wants to end up in legal trouble for breaking a law they didn’t know about or understand. When it comes to recording people, whether it’s a conversation or a video, it is illegal to do so in situations where the recorded parties would normally expect privacy.

One key point to note is that law enforcement officers while on the job, are able to be recorded. This is due to the fact that they are civil employees and out in public where they would not normally expect privacy.

What do you think of California’s privacy laws surrounding recordings? Do you agree with them, or do you think they need to be modified? Let us know what you think in the comments down below.

underage drinking laws

Can Minors Have Alcohol in California?

underage drinking laws

There are certain laws that everyone knows about, such as don’t drive over the speed limit, don’t steal things from other people, and anyone under 21 is not allowed to drink alcohol. However, while these laws are well known, a lot of people tend to ignore them, which is never a good idea.

Ignoring a law is a good way to get into trouble. One slip up could cause a person to be arrested or forced to pay a fine. This is especially true when it comes to laws surrounding minors and alcohol. Breaking a law is bad enough as an adult, abut as a minor it can lead to problems down the line.

Minors and Alcohol Laws in California

Here in the state of California, it is illegal for minors to consume alcohol under Business and Professions Code (BPC) 25658. Under this law, it is illegal to do the following:

  • Sell alcohol to a minor, anyone under the age of 21.
  • Buying alcohol as a minor is illegal.
  • It is a misdemeanor to give alcohol to a minor who then gets into a car accident for driving while drunk.
  • It is a misdemeanor to allow a minor to consume alcohol on business property regardless if the person knew the minor was under 21 or not.

BPC 25658 is just one of several state laws that restrict the usage of alcohol amongst minors. For instance, BPC 25662 makes it illegal for a minor to even be in possession of alcohol.

Under these two laws, a minor can never posses or consume alcohol, not even if their parent or legal guardian allows them to have the alcohol. While that particular instance may be okay in some states, it is illegal here in California. Minors can never have alcohol. This is further confirmed by DUI laws related to minors.

When it comes to driving while intoxicated, adults have to worry about having a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%. Minors get into trouble if they have a BAC over 0.01%.

Penalties of Breaking These Laws

In most instances of minors with alcohol, both the minor and the adult that provided them with the alcohol will face consequences. The exact consequences that a person will face are dependent on which law was broken. In most instances, the person will face misdemeanor charges.

When a minor is caught with alcohol in their possession, under BPC 25662, they face misdemeanor charges. This includes:

  • A $250 fine for first time offenses. A $500 fine for subsequent offenses.
  • 24 -32 hours of community service, either at an alcohol/drug treatment center or a county coroner’s office.
  • Participation in a youth drunk driver program.
  • 1 year driver’s license suspension or a 1 year delay in acquiring a driver’s license.

Breaking BPC 25658, whether as a minor consuming alcohol or as an adult providing alcohol to a minor, is a misdemeanor offense. Someone accused of this crime faces:

  • Up to 6 months in county jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000.

If a minor is caught driving while under the influence of alcohol with a BAC of 0.01%, they will face a 1 year suspension of their driver’s license under Vehicle Code (VC) 23136. This is the state’s zero tolerance law for underage drinking and driving.

If a minor is caught driving with a BAC of 0.05% or greater, they will face consequences under VC 23140. This is the states underage DUI law. It comes with the following, infraction level consequences:

  • No jail time.
  • 1 year driver’s license suspension.
  • 3 months of mandatory alcohol education program.

If a minor has a BAC of 0.08% or higher, than they can be charged with regular DUI, which carries harsher consequences.

Don’t Give Minors Alcohol

Alcohol can be enjoyable, when consumed responsibly. Minors under the age of 21 are often not mature enough to handle alcohol. This can lead to them over consuming, and then putting themselves into dangerous or life-threatening situations, which is why they are prohibited from drinking. This is also why it is such a big deal for adults to give alcohol to minors.

With the holiday season starting up, there will be a lot more parties and a lot more alcohol around. If anyone has family visiting from other states where minors are allowed to consume alcohol when their parent or legal guardian permits it, inform them that California sees things differently.

What do you think of California’s take on minors and alcohol? Is the state taking the right precautions or does it need to loosen up a bit? Let us know what you think in the comments down below.

charges for stolen mail

Beware of Porch Pirates This Holiday Season

charges for stolen mail

The holiday season is here. This means that people all over will be flock to stores, both brick and mortar, and virtual alike as they search for the perfect gifts for their loved ones. While this is a very merry time of the year, there are unfortunately some Scrooges out there who like to take advantage of unsuspecting people.

Even when someone is shopping online, they need to be careful. If they aren’t then someone else could end up with their loved one’s Christmas gift. This can happen when the gift is eventually delivered. If it is left unattended for too long, then a passerby may decide to take for themselves. While most people wouldn’t do this, there are plenty of people out there who would.

Tips for Avoiding Package Theft

One of the simplest ways to avoid package theft is for a person to do all of their shopping at brick and mortar stores. This completely eliminates the chances of some thief stealing the items off the front porch. Of course, this method is incredibly tedious and inconvenient. Shopping online is so much simpler.

Luckily for online shoppers, there are ways of keeping their packages safe, thereby ensuring they get to the intended recipient. Many shipping companies have come to recognize the problem of package theft, and provide their clients with options to protect their shipments. A person is much more likely to get their package if they take advantage of these options accordingly.

First and foremost, get the tracking number for the shipment. This simple number allows a person to monitor their package and have a more accurate idea of when it will be delivered. From there, a person will either be able to get the package themselves, or possibly have a neighbor pick it up for them.

FedEx and the United States Postal Service (USPS) both allow customers to schedule their shipments in advanced. This helps a person make sure that they, or someone they trust, will be at home when the delivery arrives. Then the package will be able to be taken off the porch before some wannabe thief strolls by and gets a bright idea.

Some shipping companies, such as FedEx, also allow customers to require a signature for the delivery. This way, the package won’t be left at the house unless someone signs for it.

Another option that is available with some shippers, is the ability to make special requests with the delivery. A person can leave special instructions that the delivery person will follow, such as leaving the package at the back door or hidden in the bushes.

Another simple option that is available with all shipping companies is to have the package delivered to a different address. A person could have the package shipped to a trusted neighbor who is always home, or if their work allows it, ship it to their office.

Many stores allow their customers to use in-store pickup. The person orders the item online, and then can pick it up at a local store. Amazon offers a similar service called Amazon Locker where they will ship items to a local locker and giver the customer a code to open said locker. Even UPS has a service like this, where a person can request that the item be sent to a nearby UPS store where the item can then be picked up. These options eliminate any chances of the item being left in the open where a thief could take it. A person just needs to look into what the shipper or retailer offers.

Penalties of Porch Piracy

Package theft from front doors, or package piracy as it is commonly called, is typically a crime of opportunity. More often than not, the thief was simply strolling or driving by when they saw the package and decided to take the unclaimed item for themselves. To them, it seems so simple. They only see it as taking a package, and so they don’t expect to get into any real trouble. However, that is not the case.

After all, the stealing of a package is theft. This can get a person charged with theft, petty or grand depending on the value of the contents of the package. A person could also face charges of mail theft.

Petty theft (Penal Code 484a & 488) and mail theft (Penal Code 530.5e) are misdemeanors that can earn a person:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000.
  • Some combination fine and jail time.

Grand theft (Penal Code 487) involves the theft of any items that have a value greater than $950. The crime of grand theft can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony in California. The consequences for committing misdemeanor grand theft in California are similar to the ones above. Felony Grand theft can earn a person 16 months, 2 years, or 3 years in prison, plus hefty fines.

Practice Safe Shipping

If a person wants to keep their shipments safe this holiday season, then they need to practice safe shipping. This means taking advantage of the above tips to ensure that either someone is there to pick-up the package, or it is put in a safe place for the person to pick-up later. So long as a person does that, they guarantee that they will get their packages safely. In turn, this means that their loved ones will all get the perfect gifts this holiday season. Who doesn’t want that?

eporting crimes in california

Do You Report Crimes?

reporting crimes in california

Most people are able to go through their days without having to worry about too much. They get to go through their day as normal without any interruptions. Unfortunately, there are times when that can’t happen for whatever reason. This is typically the result of some sort of emergency.

One such example of something like this would be if a person were to witness a crime happen. Actually witnessing a crime can be a very scary and shocking experience for any number of reasons. After the moment of the crime has passed, some people are left wondering what they should do. Do they call the police, or just pretend that they didn’t see anything? They often don’t know what to do because this is not something that people deal with on a regular basis.

Who to Report Crimes To

When people witness a crime being committed, they should report it to the local police or sheriff’s department. They will be able to handle the situation and bring the perpetrators to justice. If a crime is something very serious, a person may also want to consider reporting it to other appropriate agencies after alerting the police.

Unfortunately, many people will not report crimes because they feel like local law enforcement agencies either won’t help them, or decide that the case is too unimportant. This isn’t something that should stop a person from reporting a crime. If they need help, they should report it.

Is There a Legal Obligation?

Despite common belief, a person is not legally required to report crimes in most instances.

Some of the instances when a person has to report crimes in California are when certain professions, such as teachers, school administrators, and doctors, suspect that a child may be suffering from abuse. When a person reports cases like this, their information is legally required to be kept confidential.

Another time a person has to report a crime is when officers who are investigating a federal felony offense ask if the person knows anything about it. If a person doesn’t answer honestly, then they could face misprision of a felony, which is a form of obstruction of justice. However this, does not require a person to make a report of a crime after witnessing it.

What can get a person into trouble is if they knowingly helped a person hide from authorities after that person committed a crime. Doing this makes the person an accomplice and they could be charged with aiding and abetting a criminal.

An Anonymous Alternative

For those people who are afraid to report a crime to the police for fear of repercussions, either from the police themselves or the accused person, they can always report the crime anonymously. Most law enforcement agencies have places on their websites where a person can report crimes anonymously. This way, the crime can still be reported but the person doesn’t have to worry about any repercussions.
There are also hotlines and other websites that people can use to leave anonymous tips for crimes.

It is important to note that a person can try to remain anonymous when they dial 911, but many law enforcement agencies are able to track phone numbers.

There Is Nothing to Fear

Law enforcement officers do not go after people who report crimes, so a person should never feel afraid to report a crime. However, a person is not legally obligated to report any criminal activity that they may have witnessed. Only in certain instances are people legally required to report a crime to the proper authorities. So long as a person isn’t omitting information when being questioned by the police, or working in a profession that is required to report suspected cases of child abuse, they have nothing to fear.

By reporting a crime, a person will be able to clear their conscious and get back to their normal, daily routine.

consequences for stealing mail

How Bad Is Stealing Mail?

consequences for stealing mail

Even in today’s digital world, there is still a high demand for physical shipping. After all, how else would people be able to get something that they ordered online? This means that mail is still a pretty big deal, even if it may not seem like.

Something that at first seems like no big deal, but actually becomes pretty bad when looking deeper, is stealing someone else’s mail. At first, people might think it’s no big deal, since most of the mail they get is junk mail. However, that is not the case. A lot of important things are sent in envelopes from one person to another, which is why it is illegal to steal and/or open someone else’s mail.

What Gets Shipped?

A better question would be what doesn’t get shipped in today’s world? In the age of the internet and online retailers such as Amazon, people can buy just about whatever they want online. This means that whatever they purchased needs to be shipped as well. This leads to just about anything you can imagine being shipped by mail.

However, mail goes beyond material possessions. Think about all of the birthday and holiday cards that get shipped. Many of those often contain money or gift cards in them.

Another important thing that is shipped in the mail is people’s identities. Sensitive papers that can contain important information about a person, such as medical, legal, or financial documents. These bits of paper can contain social security numbers, and other private bits of information.

All of this is stuff that a person doesn’t want falling into the wrong hands, which is why it is a crime to steal someone’s mail at both the state and federal level.

What Is Considered Mail Theft?

Due to what can be found in mail, stealing it is a very serious offense. Add on to that the fact that the USPS is a federal agency, and the consequences become even more severe. Here in the state of California, the crime and its consequences are considered to be more closely related to identity theft than to actual theft. This isn’t to say that stealing a package from amazon is not as bad as stealing a letter from a bank. Both crimes will land a person in very serious trouble.

Stealing mail is defined as taking someone else’s mail from a mailbox, mail receptacle, post office, or mail carrier. It is also illegal to obtain mail by lying to or deceiving someone. Opening someone else’s mail and taking its contents without the addressed person’s consent is also illegal. Destroying stolen mail in an attempt to hide is illegal as well. Lastly, buying or receiving mail that a person knows to be stolen is illegal.

Basically, if a person’s name is not on the address, than they shouldn’t be taking or opening the mail without permission from the person who the letter or package is addressed to.

Penalties for Stealing Mail

Stealing someone else’s mail is a crime under California Penal Code 530.5 and 18 United States Code 1708.

Here in California, the theft of mail is considered a misdemeanor offense. This means that it can earn a person:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A fine no larger than $1,000.
  • Some combination of the above fine and jail time.

At the federal level, the consequences of stealing someone else’s mail are much more severe. If a person is charged with federal mail theft, they could face:

  • Up to 5 years in federal prison.
  • Fines up to $250,000.
  • Some combination of the above fine and prison time.

This is all just for the offense of stealing the mail. A person can also potentially be charged with breaking and entering or even identity theft. Both of these charges would have their penalties added onto those of the mail theft.

Stealing Mail Is a Big Deal

All in all, stealing mail is not a crime that is taken lightly. It may seem like stealing mail is no big deal, but that is not the case. If a person is caught stealing mail from anywhere, they will face criminal charges. Here in California, that means at both the state and federal level. This means that those penalties can add up quick. Basically, a person should never take someone else’s mail or packages. It is stealing, and will land a person behind bars.

running over animal on road

Should You Stop After Hitting an Animal?

running over animal on road

As people drive, they are prone to encounter all sorts of things as they steer their vehicle down the road. Just about every driver has watched with horror as a creature decides to cross the road at the very last minute. As this happens, there is often a moment of panic in the driver, since there is not much they can do other than hope the critter made it across in time.

Most drivers hope that they never end up hitting an animal, but unfortunately, it is bound to happen at some point. The more time a person spends behind the wheel of a vehicle, the more likely they are to hit an animal.

Even then it is still pretty rare for a driver to hit an animal, at least rare enough that most people don’t know what to do if they do hit one. Some people just keep driving, doing their best not to look back at what they left in the road. Others are a little more caring, especially when there’s a possibility that they hit someone’s pet. Still, these people don’t know what they should do in this kind of situation. This article is meant to help change that.

What Type of Animal?

When it comes to animals, they can be classified as either domesticated or wild. What a driver is required to do after hitting an animal with their car is dependent on what type of animal in question. Was the animal something that could be considered a pet, such as a cat, dog, horse, or even cow? If so, the driver has to act differently than they would if they had hit a squirrel or skunk.

If the animal is was a wild animal, creatures such as skunks, raccoons, and deer, then the driver should pull over. This is especially true for larger animals such as deer and elk. Not only does the driver need to report the incident to the proper authorities, such as highway patrol or animal control, the collision could have done some serious damage to the vehicle or even the driver. This would make it unsafe to drive.

Not only does calling the authorities alert them to a dangerous road condition, it can lead to a police report being filed. While this may not sound like a good thing, it actually is. The police aren’t going to arrest an individual for hitting a wild animal. They will simply file a report, which will give the driver documented proof of the accident. This can then be used to file an insurance claim if need be.

Domesticated Animals: Household Pets

A domesticated animal is any animal that a person might normally own. This includes the obvious cat and dog, but also the less obvious creatures, such as most farm animals. Basically, if the animal might have an owner it is domesticated and the driver will need to stop and deal with the situation.

Hitting an animal, especially one that might be someone’s pet, can be a very disturbing experience. However, regardless of how the driver may feel, they need to immediately pull over and alert the proper authorities. This can be either the local police or sheriffs. This holds true no matter where the animal was hit, whether on a public road or a private parking lot.

Once the driver has stopped and alerted the proper authorities, they need to wait at the scene until help arrives. It is recommended that the driver keep a safe distance from the animal, since it will likely be scared and in pain. This can cause it to lash out at anyone who goes near it. However, if the driver feels that they need to move the animal in order to ensure its safety, they should do so with caution by wearing gloves or using a blanket to touch the animal and carefully move it to safety.

The driver should not panic or worry about being held liable for hurting the animal. Most cities have ordinances that require pet owners to keep their animals under control. This means the critter cannot be free roaming, especially in the street. If that were the case, the pet owner will likely be the one to get into trouble for the accident, not the driver. The only times the driver would be liable is if their own negligence led to the accident, or they assumed possession of the animal by moving it into their car. Once they have done that, the driver is now responsible for making sure the animal is taken care of. This is another reason why it is best to wait until the authorities arrive before doing anything.

Another important mention is the fact that in the state of California, failing to immediately stop and deal with the scene of an automobile accident can result in hit and run charges. In California, this is applicable anytime someone else’s property is damaged, including someone’s pet or livestock.

Do the Right Thing

Hitting an animal in the road is not something any driver wants to do, but is something that is bound to happen at some point. The best way to avoid this sort of thing is by being vigilant, but even then, that will not always work. Sometimes an animal will just decide to dart out in front of the vehicle.

If a crash with an animal is inevitable, it is important for a driver not to swerve. In doing so, the driver could swerve into another vehicle or send their vehicle careening off the road. The best thing to do is for the driver to remain in control of the vehicle as best as they can. This means no sudden jerks to the side or slamming of the brakes. Also try honking the horn or flashing headlights in an attempt to scare the animal into moving.

If the unfortunate hit occurs, the driver should do the right thing and take responsibility for the accident. That means pulling over and alerting the proper authorities.

dealing with family stress

The Story of Different Opinions in a Family

dealing with family stress

Having different opinions is very common. Usually if you have different opinions with your friends, you just accept it, and move on. However, what happens when you and your parents share different opinions? Every family dinner there could be remarks and comments about each other’s opinions and viewpoints. Having different opinions than your parents can cause stress, miscommunications, and frustration for all parties involved.

The amount of stress and pressure you may feel from disagreeing can greatly affect your relationship with them. At first you may think that it doesn’t matter that you don’t see eye to eye with them, but eventually it will eat away at you. You’ll notice that at first it won’t be a big deal, but it will build over time. Eventually you may snap and that will negatively affect your relationship.

Try to understand you family member’s position. Try to see the world through their eyes, and understand why their perspective is the way that it is. If you at least understand where they are coming from, you may be able to reach an agreeable compromise. If you’re able to talk to them about their opinions, then hopefully they will be willing to listen to yours. Continuously arguing over the same differences will just continue to drive a wedge between you.

If you’re able to come to an agreement, it’s time to forgive and forget. You can’t have a healthy relationship with anyone if you keep bringing up the past. Keeping score of wrong doings will create a bitter resentment towards each other. You must be able to forgive and forget it you want to fix your relationship. If you don’t, you might find yourself in a sticky situation with no help.

You don’t have to agree with everyone’s opinions, but you need to be able to have a functional relationship with them. Throughout your life you will find that you will disagree with plenty of people. Just don’t let it hinder your potential to grow as a person. Taking the time to learn about other viewpoints will only help you build your own library of knowledge.

california motorcycle laws

Motorcycle Laws of California

california motorcycle laws

As the weather slowly but surely warms up, the motorcycles start to come out. It only makes sense that nicer days bring out the bikes because who wouldn’t want to be outside, enjoying the weather. Motorcycles are also very nifty when it comes to dealing with traffic and getting to places faster. As the weather gets better, the tourists come out, and the motorcyclist get to their destinations quickly, despite the traffic. However because they are only two-wheeled vehicles they aren’t seen very well. On top of that, most people don’t realize that there are some motorcycle laws that differ from regular vehicle laws.

According to the California Department of Motorized Vehicles (DMV) there are a few variations between getting your motorcycle license, and your regular license. The biggest difference is that you’re required to take a certified training course specialized for motorcycles. This course will test your knowledge on motorcycle laws, your riding ability, and skill level. The course will also push you to make smart choices when it comes to operating your motorcycle.

Most motorists don’t realize that lane splitting is actually legal to do in California. Lane splitting is when a motorcyclist rides on the white lane between two cars, or when they’re sharing a lane with another vehicle. Lane splitting can be dangerous, especially if you’re not paying attention, or are not skilled. This should only be executed when necessary, such as during heavy traffic.

Motorcyclists are required by California law to wear helmets when riding a motorcycle. This includes any passengers at any age. The helmet also has to be approved by the Department of Transportation (DOT). You can tell if it has been approved if it has a DOT sticker or engraving. Any other motorcycle gear is highly recommended, but not mandatory. You can technically wear a swimsuit and flip flops while riding a motorcycle, however if you get into an accident, prepare for major road burns.

Operating a motorcycle is extremely fun and freeing. However it is also extremely dangerous. Between getting caught in peoples’ blind spots, and not having a protection, motorcycle crashes are some of the most deadly. That is why California has laws about helmets, and other safety precautions regarding riding motorcycles. Enjoy taking your bike out and about in California; just be aware of the rules, laws, and your skill set.

call-san-bernardino-bailbonds

Free Warrant Checks in California

call-san-bernardino-bailbonds

Do you have a sneaking suspicion that there may be a warrant out for you arrest? If so, you probably want to find out for sure, but how do you do that? If you go to a police station, they might arrest you on the spot, and you do not want that.

A warrant getting issued for a person’s arrest without that person knowing is actually pretty common. It happens all of the time. A warrant can be issued if a person collects too many unpaid parking tickets. It is not as uncommon as one might think.

In order to help people out, Penny Bail Bonds in San Bernardino offers free warrant checks. We can look up warrants in most California counties. Just give us your name, birthday, and the county where you think the warrant was issued we will look to see if there is, in fact, a warrant out for your arrest.

If we cannot find any warrants, then you are free to go. If there is a warrant for your arrest, we can help you. We can work with you to get a bail bond as ready to go as possible, so that when you turn yourself in, we can be ready to bail you out. This way, you spend as little time in jail as possible. If the county you think the warrant was issued out of does not allow third parties to perform warrant checks, we will tell you how you can check for a warrant yourself.

Here at Penny Bail Bonds in San Bernardino, our goal is to help people. That is why we perform free warrant checks for all Californians.


If you think that a warrant for your arrest has been issued, you can call 866-736-6977 to talk to an agent who can help you check.


call-san-bernardino-bailbonds

Texting and Driving Laws in California

call-san-bernardino-bailbonds

Texting while driving is against the law in the state of California. That has been the case for several years, and it continues to be the case now, even with the recent amendments to the distracted driving laws here in the state.

It used to be, that the distracted driving laws specifically targeted things such as texting and driving. However, due to their specific nature, they left out a lot of other uses that smart phones have. With the new changes that took place in January of 2017, more scenarios are prohibited under distracted driving laws.


The new laws now prohibit the use of any wireless device while behind the wheel of a car. A driver can no longer use his or her smartphone for anything while driving. This is meant to help keep both hands on the wheel, and all of the driver’s focus on the road.


With the new laws, drivers are still permitted to use their devices for calling and texting, but only when using hands-free methods, such as voice controls. However, this exception is only for drivers who are over the age of 18. Drivers who are under the age of 18 are not allowed to use any devices while driving, even devices with hands-free capabilities.