new bac level in california

Will California Make it Easier to Get a DUI?

new bac level in california

Most people are aware of the fact that driving while drunk is a very bad thing to do. Driving under the influence (DUI) is an incredibly risky and dangerous act, not just for the driver, but everyone else they pass on the road. This is due to the fact that alcohol impairs a person’s abilities and thoughts, making them unfit to drive any sort of vehicle.

Despite knowing this fact, many drivers out there still break this law every single day. These drivers convince themselves that they are fine to drive, and that they aren’t that drunk. They drive off to wherever, and that’s where things go wrong.

There are laws against drunk driving in every single state in the Union in order to keep people safe. The laws here in California may just become a bit stricter thanks to a proposed bill currently going through the California State Assembly.

Current DUI Laws in California

The laws against drunk driving here in California are pretty straightforward and mesh with the laws in most other states. Anyone who is caught driving a motor vehicle, whether it be a car, truck, or boat, with a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or greater is guilty of committing DUI under state law.

For the most part, DUI in California is charged as a misdemeanor offense, unless someone was injured as a result of the crime. A first time DUI offense earns a driver:

  • Up to 6 months in jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000.
  • 4 month driver’s license suspension.
  • Up to 9 months of DUI School.

Subsequent offenses earn a driver more jail time, longer license suspensions, and more required DUI School. After a driver receives four DUI’s, or injures someone due to their recklessness, they will be charged with felony DUI.

This comes with much heftier consequences, including:

  • A state prison stay ranging from 16 months to 16 years.
  • A max fine of $5,000, plus any owed restitution to victims.
  • A driver’s license suspension ranging from 1 to 5 years.
  • 18 to 30 months of DUI School.

The exact consequences of felony DUI are dependent on the circumstances of the crime in question, mainly if another person was injured or not.

California Assembly Bill 1713

Recently, California lawmakers in the State Assembly began considering Assembly Bill (AB) 1713. This new bill seeks to tighten restrictions on drunk driving by lowering the legal BAC in California. At first, this bill seeks to make it more legal for those who have been drinking to drive, it actually does the opposite.

By lowering the BAC from .08% to .05%, as the bill proposes, less alcohol would be required to be in a person’s blood for them to be considered drunk while driving. Many people across the state are in favor of this because they feel that having the standard at .08% is too high, and far too many drivers get away with driving while drunk because they didn’t reach that threshold.

This new proposed standard may seem extreme, but it is important to remember that commercial drivers, taxi drivers, truckers, and bus drivers, are all held to this standard already here in California. This proposed bill would be relatively new ground, since only one other state in the country has lowered the BAC of DUI’s, that state being Utah.

Don’t Drive While Drunk

Driving while drunk is never a good idea. It puts the driver’s own life at risk, as well as everyone else’s. While intoxicated, a person’s brain is not up to the task of controlling a motor vehicle. They have slower reaction times, less control over their body, and therefore are more likely to get into an accident.

With today’s modern technology, there is no reason to drive drunk. Anyone with a smartphone in their pocket can easily call a friend or family member to come pick them up, or better yet, hire a driver to come get them. With taxis, Lyft, and Uber, getting a ride home has never been easier.

What do you think of this proposed bill? Should California go through with lowering the BAC of DUI’s, or should the limit be left where it is at .08%? Let us know what you think in the comments down below.

child abuse vs discipline

Is it OK to Spank your Child in Public?

child abuse vs discipline

A parent’s job is not easy. Raising a child takes a lot of effort and time, and that is putting things mildly. Taking care of a child and raising him or her to be a functional adult is tough. It is even tougher when parents have to worry about whether or not what they are doing could get them into legal trouble.

This kind of thought is often brought up when it comes to punishing a child, especially corporal punishment. With all of the debating that surrounds this subject, many parents are left wondering where the line between punishment and abuse is drawn. They wonder if it is okay for them to spank their child in a public place for misbehaving, and fear that if they do, someone will report them to the authorities.

Child Abuse Is Harmful

Child abuse is not something to be taken lightly. This terrible crime occurs when a parent or caregiver causes injury, emotional harm, risk of harm, or death to a child, whether they intended to or not.

This abuse can come in all sorts of forms, from the obvious physical harm to other types of abuse, including:

  • Sexual abuse
  • Emotional abuse
  • Neglect

Abuse like this can leave lasting impacts on a child well into adulthood. That is why people fight so hard to stop and prevent child abuse, and why it is illegal to abuse a child.

When Does Discipline Become Child Abuse

Many adults nowadays grew up getting a spanking or two as a child. The spanking sent a very clear message to the child that that kind of behavior wouldn’t be tolerated. For some people, after getting just a few spankings, the threat alone of one would keep them in line from that point on.

However, nowadays this is a very controversial subject. There is a lot of debate amongst people on whether or not spanking a child is a form of child abuse. Here in the state of California, there is a somewhat clear line that separates corporal punishment from child abuse.
California Penal Code (PC) 273 covers many things relating to children, such as child endangerment and child abuse. The law makes it illegal to inflict and cruel or inhumane punishment on a minor under the age of 18. At first, this may sound like spanking would be illegal under this law, however that is not the case.

Spanking a child, with a bare hand or an object, is legal under California law so long as it falls within reasonable discipline.

This is often determined by two factors:

    1. Whether or not the punishment was warranted.
    2. Whether or not the punishment was considered excessive.

This means that a parent is allowed to spank their child, provided there was reason to do so and that they do not overdo the punishment.

What Are the Consequences if a Parent is Guilty of Child Abuse?

Here in California, PC 273 is a wobbler offense. This means that it can either be charged as a misdemeanor or as a felony. How the offense is charged is dependent on the facts of the incident in question.

When charged as a misdemeanor, PC 273 carries the following consequences:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A max fine of $6,000.
  • Some combination of fine and jail time.

When charged as a felony, PC 273 consequences increase to:

  • 2, 4, or 6 years in state prison.
  • A max fine of $6,000.
  • Some combination of fine and prison time.

Aside from the legal consequences, being convicted for child abuse will also brand the person in the eyes of society, which can negatively affect the person for years to come.

Know the Difference

The bottom line is that here in California, a parent is allowed to spank their child so long as the punishment fits the crime. If a parent overdoes the punishment, then it could be considered abuse.

If a person suspects that a child may be the victim of abuse, they should report it to the proper authorities. Here in California, this means reporting the incident or case to the California Department of Social Services (CDSS). The CDSS has a 24-hour emergency hotline for Child Protective Services for each individual county, the numbers of which can be found here. It can also be a good idea to make a report with the local police or sheriff’s department.

What do you think of California’s ruling on spankings and child abuse in general? Let us know in the comments down below.

five star bail service san bernardino

Penny Bail Bonds in San Bernardino Will Help You Face Your Loved One’s Arrest

five star bail service san bernardino

Nobody ever wakes up in the morning with the plan to bail out their soon-to-be arrested friend or family member. After all, no one plans on getting arrested, and they certainly wouldn’t share that plan with their loved ones. However, thousands of people are arrested every single day, and that is just here in California.

Sadly, this means that there is always a chance that someone you know could end up behind bars. If you care about that person, you will want to bail him or her out. That way, they do not have to spend a days, even months, behind bars as they await their day in court. You would much rather they be safe and sound at home.

This can easily be achieved by contacting Penny Bail Bonds in San Bernardino. Since 1987 we have helped Californians bail their loved ones out of jail. We know everything about the bail bond process and make it as quick and simple as possible. We understand that nobody wants to spend a lot of time dealing with the stress of a loved one being incarcerated.

Our agents will be by your side the whole time and will do the hard work for you. They will communicate with the jail and help you fill out the paperwork. We will even create a personalized payment plan to fit your budget. This way you will truly be able to afford to bail out your friend or family member.

You may not have known that you would be bailing someone out of jail today when you woke up this morning, but here you are. Thanks to Penny Bail Bonds in San Bernardino you have been able to face this surprise head on without worry. In just a few hours, your loved one will be home safe and sound, not locked up behind cold steel bars.


Do you need to bail out a friend or family member? You can get a free consultation by calling 866-736-6977 or by clicking Chat With Us now.


animal cruelty laws in california

Animal Abuse Is Against the Law

animal cruelty laws in california

Every good pet owner would agree that their pet’s well-being often comes before their own. They want to make sure that their pet is safe and happy. Even most non pet owners want to help out animals who are in distress, if they can. Sadly, not everyone is so compassionate. There are some people out there who simply don’t care about animals, or find it fun to cause harm to them.

This is why there are laws in place that make it illegal to cause harm or distress to an animal. California’s primary animal abuse law is Penal Code (PC) 597. This law protects all animals, including:

  • Domesticated pets
  • Strays
  • Wild animals

The law covers all kinds of different forms of animal cruelty, including but not limited to:

  • Neglect
  • Cockfighting
  • Dogfighting
  • Leaving animals unattended in vehicles

PC 597 prohibits a person from maliciously or intentionally harming an animal in anyway way that a person could possibly think of. If a person is caught breaking this law, they could face either misdemeanor or felony charges, depending on the case. As a misdemeanor charge, a person can face up to a year in county jail and a fine of no more than $20,000. Felony charges can earn a person 16 months, 2, or 3 years in jail, and a similar fine to that of the misdemeanor charges.

Most people do not want to harm animals, whether they are their pets or not, so they don’t have to worry too much about being charged with animal abuse. Since animals cannot speak for themselves, a person is encouraged to contact local law enforcement if they see or suspect that an animal is being abused.

dui laws in california

It Is Never Okay to Drink and Drive

dui laws in california

If you were to ask anyone if driving while drunk was a safe thing to do, they would tell you it is a very dangerous thing to do. In 2017, 29% of all driving fatalities were caused by drunk drivers. This amounted to nearly 11,000 deaths that could have easily been prevented. With all the advances in technology, getting a safe ride home has never been easier. There is never a reason to get behind the wheel of a vehicle while drunk.

Drunk driving is illegal in every single state in the US due to how dangerous it is. Getting caught while driving under the influence carries heavy penalties, especially for repeat offenders. The laws and penalties vary by state. Here in California, the state has several different laws surrounding the act of driving under the influence (DUI).

Penalties of DUI

All California laws surrounding DUI basically state that a person should never get behind the wheel of a vehicle while intoxicated. What changes through these various laws is the exact circumstances. If a person is simply caught driving while intoxicated, they will face consequences under Vehicle Code (VC) 23152. If they cause injury to someone else, then they will face charges under VC 23153.
A person can even get into trouble for refusing to provide a breath or blood sample to an officer during a traffic stop. This can be charged under VC 23612.

The penalties for committing DUI vary depending on the crime itself and the driving record of the driver in question. The typical consequences for DUI can include:

  • Informal probation.
  • Max 6 month jail sentence for first offense/ Max 1 year for repeat offenders.
  • Base fines of $390 to $1,000.
  • Suspended or revoked driver’s license.
  • DUI school.
  • Community service.
  • Requirement to attend AA meetings.
  • Vehicle being impounded.
  • Instillation of breathalyzer ignition device on vehicle.
  • Victim restitution’s if someone was hurt.

Generally, DUI’s are misdemeanor offenses, unless:

  • Someone was seriously hurt.
  • Someone was killed.
  • This is the driver’s fourth DUI in a 10 year period.
  • This is the driver’s third DUI that harmed someone in a 10 year period.
  • The driver has a prior felony DUI in a 10 year period.

Felony DUI convictions can come with the already mentioned penalties, as well as these increased penalties:

  • Formal probation.
  • Prison sentences, which vary from case to case.
  • Base fines between $390 and $5,000.

DUI for Professional Drivers

The fact that DUI laws apply to all drivers is a given. However, what some people may not know is that this law applies differently to drivers who are for-hire. A for-hire driver being someone who drives a vehicle such as a taxi, bus, Lyft, or Uber.

Normally, drivers are only considered intoxicated if they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08%. However, for-hire drivers are only allowed to have a BAC of 0.04%. If a for-hire driver is caught driving with that level of BAC or hire, they will face DUI charges, which would likely mean a suspension of their driver’s license.

The Dangers of Hungover Driving

Something else that many drivers are not aware of is the fact that driving while hungover can be just as bad as driving while drunk. This fact was discovered by researchers at Utrecht University in the Netherlands. Participants of the study had 10 drinks, slept off the alcohol until their BAC was 0%.

The results showed that the drivers were roughly as impaired, if not more so, than a driver with a BAC of 0.05%. The drivers were more prone to speeding, struggled to drive straight, and just generally made more errors.

This is likely due to the results of being dehydrated, having low blood sugar, and not getting enough sleep the night before.

There Is No Reason to Drive Drunk

Driving while intoxicated is never a good idea. Not only is it against the law, it is incredibly dangerous. Drunk driving is the cause of thousands of accidents and deaths every single year in the US alone.

In today’s modern age, there is no reason for any of this. With smartphones, people now have the ability get a safe ride literally in the palm of their hand. A person can easily contact a loved one to come pick them up, or hire a driver of a taxi, Lyft, or Uber. Doing this has never been easier than it is right now. A person can easily save themselves and the lives of people they’ve never met by simply pulling out their phone before ever setting foot in a vehicle.

how to post bail in san bernardino

Penny Bail Bonds in San Bernardino Can Help Solve Your Problem

how to post bail in san bernardino

Nothing is quite as discouraging as being faced with what seems like and unsolvable problem. This is especially true when the problem is something that a loved one is facing. You want to help her out, but you have no idea how to do so. In no other scenario is this truer than when your loved one has been arrested.

The minute you learn of a loved one’s arrest, you want to get her out of jail. You do not want her sitting in a jail cell awaiting her trial. You decide that you have to bail her out, then you see her bail amount. Unfortunately in the state of California, bail is incredibly expensive. Even at its lowest prices, bail still costs several thousands of dollars. You have no idea how you are going to solve this problem.

At least, that was the case until you came across Penny Bail Bonds in San Bernardino. For over 30 years, we have been helping Californians rescue their loved ones from jail at cheap and affordable prices. Let us do the same for you. Not only can we get your loved one out of jail at an affordable price, we can do it quickly as well.

Our agents are experts in their field, they know how to get someone out of jail quickly. Our agents can get your loved one out of jail in as little as 2 hours in some counties. While our agents work on that, they will simultaneously work on creating a payment plan for you that works with your monthly budget.

With our expert bail agents helping you, your loved one can be out jail in less than a day without you needing to drain your bank account. Our professional bail agents here at Penny Bail Bonds in San Bernardino can help turn your unsolvable problem into a minor one. Let us help you.


If you are ready to get started, just call 866-736-6977 or click Chat With Us now.


discount bail bonds in san bernardino

Don’t Break the Bank to Bail Someone Out

discount bail bonds in san bernardino

Bailing someone out of jail is not what people would consider a fun pastime. No one wants to spend large amounts of money to rescue someone out of jail no matter how much they care about the person. However, at the end of the day, they do it because they do care about their friend or family member and just want the best for him.

What many people may not know, is that they do not have to break their bank account to rescue someone from jail. All they really need to do is talk to one of the bail agents here at Penny Bail Bonds in San Bernardino. For over 30 years we have been helping Californians rescue their loved ones from jail at an affordable price. Let us help you too.

Our bail bonds only cost 10% of the bail that they are for. This means that our clients get a 90% discount simply by coming to us for bail help. That makes bailing someone out of jail much more affordable. However, we do not stop there. We provide our clients with affordable, personalized payment plans the further breakdown the cost of the bail bond.

With a payment plan, a client no longer has to pay the full 10% of the bail upfront. Instead, the bail bond will be broken up and divided over several months. Each monthly payment will be designed to fit with the client’s unique monthly budget. This ensures that the client can rescue their loved one from jail without draining their bank account.

We also offer a 20% discount on the price of the bail bond for clients who:

  • Are union members.
  • Are members of the military.
  • Are members of AARP.
  • Are homeowners.
  • Have a private attorney.

No one ever wants to part ways with their hard earned money, but rescuing a loved one from jail is very important. Luckily, the cost of bailing someone out can be made much more affordable simply by contact Penny Bail Bonds in San Bernardino. We will give you the discounts that you need to get someone out of jail at an affordable price without breaking the bank.


When you are ready to talk to a professional bail agent for free, just call 866-736-6977 or click Chat With Us now.


preventing christmas tree fires

Tips for Preventing Christmas Tree Fires

preventing christmas tree fires

Christmas just wouldn’t be the same without an evergreen tree standing tall and proud in the living room. This is why thousands upon thousands of people will be getting cut evergreen trees for their homes this year. While the trees look stunning, especially when fully decorated, they can pose a bit of a problem. Pine and other evergreen trees can be very flammable, especially as they dry out.

If a person wants to avoid the possibility of a fire in their own home, then they need to follow these tips.

  • Choose a fresh tree. A person should be able to touch the tree and not see a bunch of needles fall from the branch.
  • Place the tree away from any sort of heat sources that could cause the tree to ignite.
  • Replace any light strands that are broken or damaged as they can cause a spark.
  • Never place candles on or near the tree.
  • Water the tree daily to keep it hydrated.
  • Turn the lights off when leaving home or going to bed.

Once Christmas has come and gone, the tree should be removed from the room as quickly as possible. Over the course of the month, the tree will dry out and become more and more of a fire hazard. It should be removed as soon as possible and kept away from the house until it is removed completely.

earthquake preparedness in california

Alaska Quake Reminds Californians to Be Prepared

earthquake preparedness in california

As Alaska deals with the damages caused by a magnitude 7.0 earthquake, Californians are being reminded of the dangers of earthquakes. Us Californians are used to hearing about the next “Big One,” but we often tend to forget about it. This is usually due to the fact that we hear about it so much, that it starts to go in one ear and out the other. However, this is not something we should forget about, so here is a condensed list of things to remember about earthquakes and prepping for them.

  • Duck and cover when the shaking starts. Know where tables and desks are that you can get under to protect yourself from falling debris.
  • Have emergency plans. Know how to get out of any room in a building, and have a plan with family on where to meet up in the event of an earthquake.
  • Have supplies stored away. The earthquake can damage roads, making the gathering of supplies after the fact almost impossible. Even if you can get to the store, there is no guarantee that the store will be stocked after a big quake.
  • Know how to shutoff the electricity, gas, and water to your house in the event that the shaking damages any of those three systems.
  • Have important documents in a safe place, such as a fire safe.

These are just a few things to know in the event of an earthquake, if you want to more detailed information, click here. Many of the precautions listed above are things that people who experienced the Alaska Quake referenced as keeping them safe during the earthquakes and its hundreds of aftershocks.

A magnitude 7.0 earthquake is no laughing matter. The infamous 1994 Northridge Earthquake was actually smaller, clocking in at magnitude of 6.7. California is long overdue for a big quake, and the best thing that we can do is be prepared.

keeping kids safe in water

Keeping Kids Safe in Water

keeping kids safe in water

Summer is here, and that means families are looking for the best ways to keep cool during the hottest of days. One of the favorite pastimes is going swimming, whether it is in a pool, river, or lake. Swimming is a great way to beat the heat, however not everyone is always up to the task. Young kids in particular can be at serious risk of drowning in large amounts of water.

When taking kids to bodies of water, it is important for parents to keep a close eye on their kids. Failing to do so risks their safety, which is something that nobody wants. All children should be actively supervised when near bodies of water. Infants and toddlers should always be within an arm’s reach from an adult. It only takes a few minutes for something bad to happen. It is also important to not rely on pool toys such as noodles and water wings to keep a child safe as they are not true safety devices.

Teaching kids to swim is a big and important step. If a kid knows how to tread water, they are that much safer. However, figuring out when to teach a child how to swim is dependent on the child and parent. Only start teaching a child to swim when they are ready, and don’t stop at just swimming. Teach your child how to float and to stay close to the shore in open water. Also teach them that swimming in open water is very different than swimming in a pool.

If you have a pool in your own backyard, be sure that you take the proper precautions. Backyard pools should have a four foot fence around them and a self-closing, self-latching gate. This should help keep kids from accessing the pool while unsupervised. Also consider putting some sort of alarm on the gate that could alert you to someone accessing the pool.

Swimming is a great way to beat the heat during the peak of summer. However it can be dangerous for little kids if they are not properly supervised. If you plan on taking your family swimming this summer, be sure to keep a watchful eye on your younger kids. Doing so will help ensure that your summer stays happy and fun.